Coin cells are the batteries you never think about until a key fob, a kitchen scale, an AirTag, a motherboard clock or a glucose meter goes dark, and then you need the exact size, today. The numbers on the cell tell you everything: a CR2032 is 20 mm across and 3.2 mm thick, a CR2025 is the same width but 2.5 mm thick, a CR2016 thinner still, a CR2450 is 24.5 mm wide and fat, and an LR44 is a 1.5 volt alkaline button rather than a 3 volt lithium coin. We ranked the coin and button cells in our health and household catalog by the size and count in the pack, chemistry, stated shelf life, whether the packaging is child resistant, the brand’s track record for leak-free cells, and what thousands of owners report about how long the cells actually lasted.
We have not run discharge tests ourselves; the verdicts rest on the spec sheets and on the owner review history. Prices are not printed because they change daily; every button opens the live Amazon page. For the bigger cylindrical cells, see our AA and AAA batteries and 9V batteries guides. Do Best Deal ranks on owner history and spec sheets, not samples.
How we picked
- Owner history. Every pick has hundreds to well over ten thousand owner reviews and a high rating; the two Panasonic and two Amazon Basics packs are the most-trusted here.
- One size per pick. We chose the best pack for each common size rather than eight CR2032 listings, so the guide answers the question you actually have.
- Shelf life stated. From three to ten years depending on the pick; we favoured makers who put a number on it.
- Child-resistant packaging on the picks most likely to be in a house with children, since a swallowed coin cell is a medical emergency.
- Fresh stock and real counts. Packs where owners consistently report full voltage on arrival, and where the listing count matches what ships.
The picks
Panasonic CR2032 3.0 Volt Long Lasting Lithium Coin Cell Batteries in Child Resistant,Standards Based Packaging,(Pack of 20)

The CR2032 is the coin cell the world runs on, and the Panasonic twenty-pack is the one to buy: the same brand found in many new fobs and devices, sealed with Panasonic’s own structure and materials to hold full discharge performance, rated to keep its charge for eight years in storage and to work from 14 to 140 degrees Fahrenheit. The packaging is the other reason it ranks first. Every cell sits in child-resistant blister packaging that meets the IEC, ANSI and US CFR standards for coin cell safety, which matters because a swallowed CR2032 can burn through an oesophagus in two hours. Over ten thousand owners rate it highly and the recurring praise is that the cells arrive at full voltage and last as long as the originals. You pay more per cell than the generic bulk packs and the blisters take scissors to open, which is the point. For fobs, scales, AirTags and motherboard clocks, start here.
- Panasonic cells with proprietary sealing, the brand many devices ship with
- Child-resistant packaging that cites the actual standards
- Eight-year storage life and a wide operating temperature range
- Over ten thousand owner reviews with a strong owner rating
- Costs more per cell than the bulk generics
- Blister packaging is deliberately hard to open
- Twenty may be more than a household needs
Amazon Basics 18-Pack CR2025 3V Lithium Coin Cell Batteries, Long Lasting Power, Mercury-Free, Child Safety Packaging

The CR2025 is the thinner sibling of the 2032, the same 20 mm across but 2.5 mm thick, and it is the cell in a great many car fobs, watches and small remotes. The Amazon Basics eighteen-pack is the most-reviewed coin cell here by a wide margin, and that enormous owner base gives it a strong rating: cells arrive fresh, hold up in fobs for a year or more, and the child-safety packaging keeps the spares tidy. They are mercury free and rated for extreme temperatures. What you give up versus Panasonic is a stated shelf-life figure and the comfort of a premium name. The one caution is the one that applies to every 2025: it is not a 2032. Some devices tolerate the thinner cell with a shim, many do not, so check the number moulded into the old battery before ordering. For the right device, this is the sensible everyday pack.
- The most-reviewed coin cell on this page, with a strong owner rating
- Eighteen cells in child-safe packaging at a house-brand price
- Rated for extreme temperatures and long storage
- Amazon Basics return policy if a batch is flat
- Shelf life not stated as a number
- Not the brand your device shipped with
- Easy to confuse with CR2032; check the thickness your device needs
PGSONIC 120 Pack CR2032 Batteries, 3V Lithium Coin Battery for Small Electronic Devices, 5 Year Shelf Life

If you run a string of LED tea lights, a house full of window sensors, a classroom of calculators or a fleet of remotes, the arithmetic changes and the PGSONIC 120-pack is the answer. The cells are rated at 240 mAh, about 30 percent more than a conventional CR2032, with a five-year shelf life, nickel plating and a leak-free, mercury-free construction, and over ten thousand owners rate them highly, which is a remarkable base for a bulk generic. The cost per cell is a fraction of the branded blisters. The trade-offs are honest ones. Bulk trays are not child-resistant packaging, so this pack belongs on a high shelf in a home with small children, the shelf life is shorter than Panasonic’s eight years, and 120 cells is a lot: most households would not get through them before they lose capacity. For hobbyists, landlords and anyone who buys for a small business, though, it is the clear value pick.
- 120 cells for the price of a few branded blisters
- Rated 240 mAh, higher than a standard CR2032
- Over ten thousand owner reviews with a strong owner rating
- Leak-free, mercury-free, nickel-plated cells
- Bulk tray packaging is not child resistant
- Five-year shelf life is shorter than Panasonic
- Far more than most homes will use before they age
Amazon Basics 12-Pack CR1632 3 Volt Lithium Coin Cell Battery, Long Lasting Power, Mercury-Free, Reliable, Child Safety Packaging

Open a Toyota, Honda, Nissan or Mazda key fob and there is a good chance the cell inside says CR1632, a 16 mm coin that supermarkets rarely stock. The Amazon Basics twelve-pack fixes that: thousands of owners rate it highly, almost all of them for exactly this job, and report fobs working for a year or more per cell. The packaging is child resistant, the cells are mercury free and rated for extreme temperatures, and the pack is easy to store so that the next time the dashboard says “key battery low” the fix is in the drawer. Because the size is uncommon, there are fewer brand-name alternatives, and Amazon Basics does not put a number on shelf life. Twelve cells is also more than two fobs will use in several years, so share the pack or accept that some will sit. It remains the easiest way to solve a surprisingly common problem.
- The hard-to-find size many Toyota, Honda, Nissan and Mazda fobs use
- Twelve cells in child-resistant packaging
- Thousands of owner reviews with a strong owner rating
- Rated for extreme temperatures
- Smaller size has fewer brand options, so this is a house brand by default
- Shelf life not quantified
- Twelve is more than a two-car household needs for years
Panasonic CR2025 3.0 Volt Long Lasting Lithium Coin Cell Batteries in Child Resistant,Standards Based Packaging,10 Count (Pack of 2)

This is the Panasonic version of the CR2025 for people who want the brand their fob came with. Two ten-count packs give twenty cells with the same proprietary sealing, eight-year storage life and 14 to 140 degree operating range as the CR2032 pick, in child-resistant packaging that cites IEC, ANSI, CFR and UL standards by number. Thousands of owners rate it highly and the reviews repeat the same story as the 2032: full voltage on arrival and long life in watches and remotes. The Amazon Basics 2025 above is cheaper and has a far bigger review base, which is why it ranks higher; the Panasonic earns its place for the stated shelf life, the standards list, and the convenience of two separate packs, one for the kitchen drawer and one for the glovebox. If you only buy coin cells once every few years, the extra per cell is worth it for cells that will still be fresh when you need them.
- Panasonic cells with the same sealing and eight-year storage as the CR2032 pick
- Standards-based child-resistant packaging
- Thousands of owner reviews with a strong owner rating
- Two separate 10-packs, handy for splitting between home and car
- Pricier per cell than the Amazon Basics 2025
- Twenty is a lot of 2025s for one household
- Blisters are stiff to open
Tenergy CR2450 Battery, 3V Lithium Coin Cell Battery for Car Key Fob, Remote Controllers, Garage Door Openers, Calculators, Thermometers and More, 20 Count (Pack of 2)

The CR2450 is the big coin cell: 24.5 mm across and 5 mm thick, with roughly three times the capacity of a CR2032, which is why garage door remotes, some BMW and Mercedes fobs, flameless candles, bike lights and Bluetooth sensors use it. Tenergy’s two twenty-count packs are the pick for the size: a ten-year storage rating, the longest on this page, an operating range down to -4 degrees Fahrenheit for a remote clipped to a cold garage visor, and an anti-leak construction from a brand that has been in rechargeable and specialty cells for years. More than a thousand owners rate it highly. The caveats are the pack size and the packaging: forty cells is more than a household will use for a decade, so this suits people with a lot of candles or sensors, and the trays are not child resistant. Make sure your device really takes a 2450 before ordering; it will not fit a 2032 slot.
- Ten-year storage life, the longest stated here
- Rated to -4 F, good for garage openers and outdoor sensors
- Anti-leak design from an established battery brand
- Strong owner rating from more than a thousand reviews
- Forty cells is a lot of CR2450s
- Bulk packs are not child-resistant blisters
- Larger size fits fewer devices, so check before buying
LiCB CR 2016 Battery,CR2016 Lithium Batteries,3 Volt Coin & Button Cell (40 Pack)

The CR2016 is the thinnest of the 20 mm family at 1.6 mm, used in slim watches, some car fobs (often two stacked), small LED lights and some blood glucose meters, and it is harder to find in branded packs than the 2032. LiCB’s forty-pack is the pragmatic answer: grade A cells, CE and RoHS certification, mercury free, rated not to leak in a device for three years, and an 18-month warranty from a company that has specialised in batteries since 2006. Several hundred owners give it a solid rating, with most criticism about individual cells reading low on arrival. The three-year shelf life is the shortest in this guide, so buy it when you need it rather than for the emergency drawer, and the listing’s bullet points confusingly mention twenty cells while the title and shipped pack say forty. For the right device it does the job at a sensible price.
- The thin 2016 size that many fobs, watches and glucose meters use
- Forty cells with an 18-month warranty
- CE and RoHS certified, mercury free
- Solid owner rating from several hundred reviews
- Three-year shelf life, the shortest here, so do not stockpile
- Lower owner rating than the Panasonic and Amazon Basics picks
- Listing text mixes 20 and 40 counts; the pack is 40
Compare the picks
| Product | Size | Count | Chemistry | Shelf life | Our score | Our score | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Panasonic CR2032Panasonic | CR2032, 20 x 3.2 mm | 20 | 3 V lithium | Up to 8 years | 9.4/10 | 9.4 | See price |
Amazon Basics CR2025Amazon Basics | CR2025, 20 x 2.5 mm | 18 | 3 V lithium | Long lasting, not stated | 9.4/10 | 9.4 | See price |
PGSONIC CR2032 120PGSONIC | CR2032, 20 x 3.2 mm | 120 | 3 V lithium, 240 mAh | 5 years | 9.2/10 | 9.2 | See price |
Amazon Basics CR1632Amazon Basics | CR1632, 16 x 3.2 mm | 12 | 3 V lithium | Long lasting, not stated | 9.4/10 | 9.4 | See price |
Panasonic CR2025Panasonic | CR2025, 20 x 2.5 mm | 20 | 3 V lithium | Up to 8 years | 9.4/10 | 9.4 | See price |
Tenergy CR2450Tenergy | CR2450, 24.5 x 5 mm | 40 | 3 V lithium | Up to 10 years | 9.2/10 | 9.2 | See price |
LiCB CR2016LiCB | CR2016, 20 x 1.6 mm | 40 | 3 V lithium | 3 years | 9.0/10 | 9.0 | See price |
NICEBATT LR44NICEBATT | LR44 / AG13, 11.6 x 5.4 mm | 24 | 1.5 V alkaline | Not stated | 9.2/10 | 9.2 | See price |
Reading the number on the cell
Lithium coin cells follow a simple code: CR means lithium chemistry at 3 volts, the first two digits are the diameter in millimetres and the last two are the thickness in tenths of a millimetre. So CR2032 is 20 mm by 3.2 mm, CR2025 is 20 by 2.5, CR2016 is 20 by 1.6, CR2450 is 24.5 by 5.0 and CR1632 is 16 by 3.2. The three 20 mm cells look identical from above and fit the same holder, but a 2025 in a 2032 slot is loose and a 2032 in a 2025 slot may not close, so match the thickness. Button cells like the LR44 use a different code: LR is alkaline at 1.5 volts, SR is silver oxide at 1.55 volts, and the trade numbers (AG13, 357, A76) are the same size from different makers. If the old cell is unreadable, the device manual or a quick search of the model number will tell you.
Shelf life, storage and fresh stock
A lithium coin cell loses roughly one percent of its capacity per year in good conditions, which is why Panasonic can promise eight years and Tenergy ten; alkaline buttons and budget lithium cells fade faster, hence the three-year figure on the LiCB pack. Keep cells in their original packaging, at room temperature and out of the sun, and resist the urge to store them loose in a drawer where they can short against each other or a coin. Buy a pack size you will use within half its stated shelf life: for most homes that means a 10 to 20 pack of CR2032, not 120, unless you run a lot of sensors or candles. The owner reviews behind every pick here consistently report full voltage on arrival, which is the best indicator of fresh stock a buyer can get without a meter.
Child safety is not optional
A swallowed coin cell lodges in the throat and reacts with saliva to generate current, which burns tissue within two hours; CR2032 and the other 20 mm cells are exactly the size a toddler can swallow and exactly the size that gets stuck. Both Panasonic packs and the two Amazon Basics packs ship in child-resistant packaging that meets the relevant safety standards, which is a real reason to choose them for a family home. The bulk trays from PGSONIC, Tenergy, LiCB and NICEBATT are cheaper per cell but open with a fingernail, so they belong on a high shelf or in a locked box. Dispose of dead cells promptly; a spent coin cell still holds enough charge to cause a burn, and tape over the faces before it goes in the recycling.
Can I use a CR2025 instead of a CR2032?
Sometimes, but it is not ideal. Both are 20 mm across and 3 volts, but the 2025 is 0.7 mm thinner and has less capacity, so it can sit loose and die sooner. Use the size printed on the old cell or in the manual.
How long does a CR2032 last in a car key fob?
Typically one to three years, depending on how often the fob is used and whether it has keyless-entry proximity sensing, which drains faster. Panasonic and other premium cells tend to sit at the longer end in owner reports.
Which coin cell does my key fob take?
CR2032 and CR2025 are the most common; many Toyota, Honda, Nissan and Mazda fobs use CR1632; some BMW, Mercedes and garage remotes use CR2450; some fobs stack two CR2016. Open the fob and read the number on the cell.
Are LR44 and 357 batteries the same?
They are the same size and interchangeable in most devices. LR44 (also AG13, A76) is 1.5 V alkaline; 357 (also SR44) is 1.55 V silver oxide, which holds a steadier voltage and lasts longer in watches and precision meters. For toys and calculators, LR44 is fine.
Do coin cell batteries expire?
Yes. Lithium cells lose about one percent of capacity a year, so a pack rated for eight years is still useful well past its date but weaker. Alkaline buttons fade faster. Store cells in their packaging at room temperature and buy pack sizes you will use within a few years.
Prices and stock change daily. The buttons above open Amazon so you always see the current price. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.
Do Best Deal is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. If you buy through links on this site we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

