A cup of flour weighs a different amount every time you scoop it. A scale removes that guesswork, and it is the quickest way to portion meat or split dough evenly. Most digital scales share the same recipe: an 11 lb limit, 1 g steps and a tare button. The differences that matter are how fine the steps are, whether a wide bowl hides the display, and what the scale can tell you besides weight.
We went through the 189 digital scales in our home and kitchen catalog and kept five. This is a comparison of published specifications and owner ratings, not a lab test; we did not put calibration weights on these ourselves. Prices are not printed because they change daily, and every button opens the live Amazon page.
How we picked
- Owner ratings of 4.6 stars or higher with at least 7,500 ratings each, so the score reflects years of use and not one good month.
- Five different jobs. One all-rounder, one budget scale, one built around a readable display, one for nutrition tracking and one for heavy loads.
- Full-size platforms only. Pocket and jewelry scales with a 500 g limit are in the same catalog category, and we left them out.
- Stated resolution and minimum weight. We quote the step size and the smallest readable weight from each listing.
The picks

The current Pronto fixes the usual weakness of an inexpensive scale. Most 11 lb scales count in whole grams, which is fine for flour and useless for 3 g of instant yeast. The Pronto reads in tenths of a gram until the load reaches 1,000 g, then switches to half-gram steps up to 6,000 g. That covers a pinch of salt and a full bowl of bread dough on the same platform. Owners rate it 4.7 stars across more than 93,000 ratings, and it sells for under $30 at the time of writing.
- 0.1 g steps below 1,000 g, fine enough for yeast, salt and coffee
- Unit and Tare buttons sit apart from the platform and give a click you can feel and hear
- Auto-off can be set anywhere from 2 to 5 minutes
- 93,800+ ratings at 4.7 stars
- Steps widen to 0.5 g once the load passes 1,000 g
- One-year warranty, against five years on the Greater Goods
- AAA batteries only, no USB power

The plain scale, done properly. It has a stainless steel platform, a wide LCD, a tare button and a unit button that cycles through pounds, ounces, grams, fluid ounces and milliliters. The limit is 11 lb and the minimum is 2 g, which suits flour, sugar, meat and portioning leftovers. Nearly 119,000 owners rate it 4.7 stars, the same average as scales that cost several times more. It counts in whole grams only. For coffee or small amounts of yeast, step up to the Ozeri.
- 118,900+ ratings at 4.7 stars, the most-reviewed pick on this page
- Stainless steel platform and a wide LCD
- Weight and volume units, including fl oz and ml
- Batteries are in the box
- Needs at least 2 g on the platform before it reads
- Whole-gram steps, so not for espresso doses or small amounts of yeast
- Basic feature set: tare and unit switching, nothing more
OXO Good Grips 11 Pound Stainless Steel Food Scale with Pull-Out Display

Anyone who has set a large mixing bowl or a dinner plate on a small scale knows the problem: the rim covers the display and you end up crouching to read it. The OXO solves that with a display that pulls out from the body, so the numbers sit clear of whatever is on the platform. The digits are large and backlit, and the stainless platform comes off to be washed. It costs far more than the other four, and its 1 g resolution is no better than the Amazon Basics. You are paying for a scale that is easier to read and easier to clean, and 8,900 owners rate it 4.7 stars.
- Display pulls out so a wide bowl or plate cannot hide the numbers
- Platform lifts off for cleaning
- Smudge- and fingerprint-resistant stainless steel
- 8,900+ ratings at 4.7 stars
- The most expensive pick here by a wide margin
- Whole-gram steps, no 0.1 g mode
- No ml or fluid-ounce mode in the listing
Greater Goods Food Scale with Nutrition Calculator, 2,000 Codes (Silver)

Many nutrition scales need a phone beside them. This one does the arithmetic on its own display. Find the food in the included booklet, key in its code, put the portion on the glass, and the screen shows calories, protein, carbohydrate, fat and sodium in a layout that looks like a nutrition label. The database holds 2,000 foods and you can add 99 of your own from package labels. SAVE and TOTAL let you build a meal ingredient by ingredient and read the combined figures at the end. Used without codes it is a normal 11 lb scale with 1 g steps, and the warranty runs five years.
- Shows calories and macros on the scale itself, no app or account needed
- SAVE and TOTAL add up a whole plate or recipe
- Tempered-glass top, 0.9 in thin
- 5-year warranty and 7,800+ ratings at 4.6 stars
- You look up each food code in a printed booklet
- The optional app does not connect to the scale
- Costs more than a plain scale with the same 1 g resolution

An 11 lb limit sounds generous until you weigh a Thanksgiving turkey, a stockpot of brine or a large batch of dough in a heavy bowl. The KOIOS reads up to 33 lb on four load sensors and still counts in 1 g steps. The 9.0 by 6.3 inch glass platform is waterproof and wipes clean, the LCD is backlit, and a hidden hook is there for hanging storage. Power comes from a USB-C port or the two AAA batteries in the box, so there is a fallback when one runs out. The trade-off is at the bottom of the range: nothing under 3 g registers. It sold for under $20 when we checked.
- Three times the capacity of a standard 11 lb scale
- Runs from a USB-C port or the two included AAA batteries
- Waterproof tempered-glass top and a backlit LCD
- 8,400+ ratings at 4.6 stars
- Needs 3 g before it registers, so poor for spices and yeast
- Turns itself off after 3 minutes without a change in weight
- Powering off by hand takes a 3-second press
Compare the picks
| Product | Capacity | Resolution | Power | Owner rating | Our score | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Ozeri ProntoOzeri | 6,000 g (13.2 lb) | 0.1 g to 1,000 g, then 0.5 g | 2 AAA | 4.7 / 93k+ | 9.4 | See price |
Amazon Basics EK3211Amazon Basics | 11 lb | 1 g | 2 AAA | 4.7 / 118k+ | 9.4 | See price |
OXO Good Grips 11 lbOXO | 11 lb | 1 g or 1/8 oz | Not stated | 4.7 / 8.9k+ | 9.4 | See price |
Greater Goods Nutrition ScaleGreater Goods | 11 lb | 1 g | 3 AAA | 4.6 / 7.8k+ | 9.2 | See price |
KOIOS 33 lbKOIOS | 33 lb | 1 g | USB-C or 2 AAA | 4.6 / 8.4k+ | 9.2 | See price |
What to look for in a kitchen scale
Resolution matters more than capacity. Almost every kitchen scale handles 11 lb, which is plenty for daily cooking. The real question is the step size. Whole-gram steps are fine for flour, sugar, butter and meat. They are too coarse for 2 g of yeast, 7 g of salt in a small loaf, or an 18 g coffee dose, where being off by one gram is a large error. If you bake bread or brew coffee by weight, choose a scale with 0.1 g steps in the low range, which among these picks means the Ozeri.
Check the minimum weight. A scale that needs 2 g or 3 g before it shows anything cannot weigh a teaspoon of spice. The Ozeri starts at 0.5 g, the Amazon Basics at 2 g and the KOIOS at 3 g.
Think about what will sit on the platform. A slim scale stores in a drawer, but a 10-inch mixing bowl will overhang it and shade the display. A pull-out display like the OXO has is the complete fix.
Milliliter modes are a conversion, not a measurement. A scale cannot see volume. The ml and fl oz settings assume the liquid has the density of water or milk. They are accurate for those and wrong for oil, honey or syrup, so weigh those in grams.
Auto-off can ruin a recipe. If the scale shuts down while you fetch the next ingredient, the running total is gone. The Ozeri lets you set the delay between 2 and 5 minutes, and the KOIOS waits 3 minutes after the last change in weight.
A scale pays for itself fastest in bread baking, where recipes are written in grams and ratios. Our Dutch oven guide covers the pots many home bakers use for crusty loaves. For cooking grains by weight, see the rice cooker guide.
Do I need a kitchen scale with 0.1 gram resolution?
Only for small quantities. Whole-gram steps are accurate enough for flour, sugar, meat and portion control. For yeast, spices or coffee doses, 0.1 g steps make a real difference. The Ozeri Pronto reads in 0.1 g steps below 1,000 g; the other four picks count in whole grams.
What capacity should a kitchen scale have?
An 11 lb (5 kg) limit covers nearly all home cooking, including a heavy bowl plus a full batch of dough. Choose more only for whole turkeys, brine or bulk batches: the KOIOS goes to 33 lb and the Ozeri Pronto to 6,000 g, about 13.2 lb.
Which kitchen scale is best for counting calories and macros?
The Greater Goods nutrition scale. You enter a food code from the included booklet and it shows calories, protein, carbs, fat and sodium for the portion on the platform. It stores 2,000 foods plus 99 custom entries and works without an app or an account.
Can a kitchen scale measure liquids in milliliters?
Yes, but it is converting weight to volume using the density of water or milk. That is accurate for water, milk and similar liquids and inaccurate for oil, honey or syrup. The Ozeri, Amazon Basics and KOIOS all have a milliliter setting; for anything that is not water-like, weigh in grams.
What batteries do these scales use?
The Ozeri Pronto and Amazon Basics each run on two AAA batteries, and the Greater Goods on three; all are included. The KOIOS works from a USB-C port or two included AAA batteries. The OXO listing in our catalog does not state a battery type, so check the product page before you order.
Bottom line
Buy the Ozeri Pronto unless you have a specific reason not to: it is the only pick that handles both a gram of yeast and a 13 lb load, and more than 93,000 owners rate it 4.7 stars. Choose the Amazon Basics if price is the whole brief, the OXO if you are tired of peering under bowls, the Greater Goods if the scale is part of a diet, and the KOIOS if you regularly weigh more than 11 lb.
Prices and stock change daily. The buttons above open Amazon so you always see the current price. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.
Do Best Deal is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. If you buy through links on this site we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

